Leave a comment

Cooped up #1truething 3/31

I wasn’t always a vegetarian.

Sometime in my teens, I came away from the market horrified by the chickens cooped up in their cages. The stink of the meat markets, the slush of the fish mongers, the slaughter of the fowl running about in my grandmother’s yard for dinner – it was too much to take.

It’s interesting how life experiences have different impacts on people. My siblings and I saw and did mostly the same things. Yet I got turned off meat and fish for life, whereas they are consummate foodies who live to eat. My only concession to animal food is prawns – I’m not interested in anything else.

It is no longer an ethical principle either. I just don’t enjoy the taste of meat at well. I don’t mind cooking it for the family (if I have to).

3/31

Leave a Reply

