Leave a comment

Stop the sun

Stop the sun from setting, you
beg me as I wonder how to
calm you. I can’t do that, I say and
I can see you beginning to
protest in your head. Your eyes
say Yes, you can. You are my mama.
You can do
anything.

I don’t want the moon to come out. I
want the sun to stay, you say again.
The rain clouds hover to my left. Ah, salvation.
I can’t stop the sun – he needs to sleep, I
lie. But the moon can
stay away today. And you look
later and you see no moon.

And your faith shines through in your
eyes, glistening with
gratitude,
still resisting sleep.

 

Image via Flickr

Leave a Reply

