3 Comments

What’s on my nightstand – April 2011

This is the first time I’m linking to the ‘What’s on your nightstand’ carnival hosted by 5 minutes for books and I hope to do this every month from now on.

Here’s what I’ve been reading in April:

Great philosophers who failed at love by Andrew Shaffer. This is a little book full of anecdotes, sneaky secrets and an inside look into the lives of 37 philosophers, writers and artists, all of whom had a lousy time with matters of the heart. I reviewed the book here.

French women don’t get fat by Mireille Guiliano. This book has been on my wish list for years so when I chanced on a hardcover copy going for peanuts (in Broadway’s anything-for-fifty-rupees sale), I grabbed it. The book lived up to my expectations and so much more. Mireille Guiliano has a marvellous way of writing that is at once intimate and endearing. In this classic, she reveals the secrets of the elegance that French women carry so effortlessly. These are secrets that the rest of the planet could easily include in their own lives and I am convinced that we’d be better off using the advice in the book. I enjoyed the book so much that I found her on the internet,signed up for her newsletter and ‘liked’ her on Facebook. There. Now to drink another glass of water and watch the pounds fall off.

Yearnings by Abha Iyengar. Abha and I are both members of the Writing in India egroup and I was delighted to discover that she had a new book of poems out. I’m still savouring them page by page and I hope to do a full review when I’m done.

Lit by Mary Karr. I’m kicking myself for having this book on my TBR pile for almost a year and half before I’ve sat down to read it. Blame it on having a new baby around, but I’m so delighted to be finally turning the pages of this one. Karr is brilliant and every sentence, every metaphor is a delight. I’m amazed at her ability to put difficult memories down on paper in an (seemingly) effortless way. I’m struggling with writing down the hard stuff myself (as part of the excellent Motherwords course) and I’d love to read a lot more of Karr just to be able to learn from her.  

I’m looking forward to finishing Yearnings and Lit in the next few days. Then, I hope to read three books I picked up from the Broadway sale: Jodi Picoult’s Plain Truth, Robert James Waller’s A Thousand Country Roads, Ron McLarty’s The Memory of Running. Also on the list for May is Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi. Hopefully, I’ll get at least these read, if not more.

What’s on your nightstand in April?

3 comments on “What’s on my nightstand – April 2011

  1. Oh, I devoured Reading Lolita in Tehran some years back– amazing story and an amazing woman. Jennifer, our 5M4B editor, read and reviewed Lit, and I remember wanting to pick it up after reading her review.

    Thanks for linking up!
    -Dawn, 5M4B

  2. Ooh, French women don’t get fat sounds like an awesome book! Thanks for the recommendation!

    I hope you have another great reading month!

  3. Welcome to WOYN! You have some intriguing titles on your list – thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

