4 Comments

Photo-Studio Photoshops child

If this were our local newspaper, the headlines would be lurid (an example from today’s GT: Headless body found; cops suspect murder).

It really happened, though (the photoshopping, in this case).

We took M to a photo-studio for his first-ever passport-sized photo. We’re beginning the process of driving him out of the home sending him to school, starting with play school this June. The forms require a copy of his birth certificate (check) and two photos (check). We also have to carry an exorbitant (to me, cheap by some school standards) sum of money. In Cash.

So, having prepared M for what to expect at the studio, he was very genial when we got there. He sat on the little stool, looked expectantly at the photographer and gave a smile here and there (but not when the camera went ‘click’). Never mind, at least his eyes were open.

I needed some PP-sized photos too, following which we decided to take a studio portrait of the three of us. We have so few photos of all of us in the same frame, looking toward the camera that this seemed too good a chance to miss. So, we changed the white background to a green one, posed, begged M to smile and remembered to do it ourselves. I wasn’t too fussed about having a ‘perfect’ portrait – M’s not even two, for God’s sake – what does he know about smiling on the count of three?

I went to pick up the prints today. Our PP photos were quite nice, I thought. For once, the designer bags under my eyes weren’t that visible. The reflectors did a good job on my skin as well. Then, the photographer took out the group photo and I immediately felt something was wrong. Turns out that he decided he didn’t like the way M looked in the photo (he was looking to his right, not at the camera), so he photoshopped his little head from another shot and superimposed it here!!!!!!!!

I was speechless for a brief second. Then, I let it go. Like I said, it wasn’t a big deal and more importantly, the photographer gave me all the originals on a pen-drive so I can print out the real one with M’s head in proportion instead of looking a little larger than life.

I’m sure that the photographer had kind intentions. He wanted to deliver a good product, one that we would be happy with. I’m happy with most of it, sure, except for the funny, big head on my baby. The photo doesn’t do his beautiful face any justice. I don’t like the end-result. I wish he hadn’t tampered with the original.

Has something like this happened to you?

4 comments on “Photo-Studio Photoshops child

  1. yes yes! all my passport photos have been photoshopped and the boot who has very spiky and unruly hair once had his crop ‘styled’ on the computer 🙂

  2. When I smile, you can usually see a lot of the gums on the top of my top set of teeth and then the top set of teeth, with no lower teeth visible. The photographer at my wedding (no less!) decided the top of my smile was too gummy and took the artistic liberty of copying and pasting the visible set a second time so as to show me as having a proper top and lower set of teeth peeking out of my smile! I thought it was very cheeky and wasn’t a happy bunny at all!

  3. Yikes. Tampering with your kid’s photo is bad enough, but wedding pics?! My sympathies, F.

  4. […] Photo-Studio Photoshops child If this were our local newspaper, the headlines would be lurid (an example from today's GT: Headless body found; cops suspect murder). It really happened, though (the photoshopping, in this case). We took M to a photo-studio for his . […]

Leave a Reply

