Leave a comment

Waiting for January

December is my favourite month of the year. The weather is good (in India), there’s a festive air everywhere and the lights and decorations cheer you up. December is also my birthday month and best of all, it leads to January.

I love the idea of a New Year. It’s the possibilities that such a day brings that makes it exciting. You can forget the last 365 days and start afresh. New beginnings are easy when you have a fresh calendar staring you in the face.

2010 was a good year for me. It’s been over two years since I’ve had a night of good sleep, but I’m getting used to it. My baby is growing up into a delightful, charming and gorgeous toddler. I didn’t shop as much as I would have had I been in B’bay (there’s nowhere to shop in Goa), but that’s a good thing, isn’t it?

I helped organise a mini-literary festival, made some lovely contacts and already have interest (from potential sponsors and audience members) for another event next year.

This was a good year for my writing as well.  I didn’t write much, but I cracked two of my ‘dream markets’ – TIME magazine and Marie Claire. I had assignments throughout the year and next year promises to be bigger, better and varied. I’m looking forward to doing an online course with Kate Hopper in February as well.

I’m quite excited about 2011, actually. Could it be because I have three editors waiting for pitches already? Could it be because this will be the year we might begin to travel a little more? Perhaps this will be the year I convince the CCP to clean up their act and relieve us of the litter we are forced to live with every day.

This will surely be the year to resurrect my photography, for sure.

I have my goals for 2011 written down already (ahem, in November).  The next twelve months are going to be splendid– you’ll see.

Do you have plans for 2011?

Leave a Reply

