3 Comments

Google Reader: my new best friend

I can’t believe it took me so long to figure out Reader. I’m one of those computer-obsessed people who is game to experiment with any decent looking software, online time-saving programs or social networking sites. I try to stay updated on the latest trends in the computing business, not because I want to write about it, but because I want to play with it.

I have a blind spot for Google related stuff, though. Mainly because I have this idea that G has no respect for privacy. I don’t feel safe with the Big G. Gmail compounds the situation because you can’t delete emails. Why does Google want us to hold on to old stuff? Haven’t they heard of purging?

Anyway. I’ve been working on deleting emails from my other email account. With over 7,000 unread emails piled up over the last year (gulp), it was time for drastic action. Granted that a lot (ok, most) of those emails didn’t need any action from me. Blog announcements, yahoo group notifications, RSS feeds that I just didn’t have time to scroll through, leave alone delete.

So, in a recent fit of cleaning up, I turned to Reader. Shifted a few subscriptions from email to RSS, added a whole lot of new feeds and spent some time putting those shiny new items into shiny new folders.

Boy, do I have a lot more free time now! (Just kidding. You do know that a mum of an 18 month old can’t really have above said free time.)

Reader has simplified my life, though. I can take a quick glance at new items that have come in without having to open and read each one. You have no idea how liberating this is! I am able to stay in touch with the outside world so much quicker now. Not only that, I’m constantly adding new blogs and feeds in my area of interest.  It’s so easy. Why didn’t I do this before?! (Oh, yes. See second para…)

Go on, recommend a good read to me. I’m up half the night anyway – might as well make some use of it.

3 comments on “Google Reader: my new best friend

  1. […] Reader has simplified my life, though. I can take a quick glance at new items that have come in without having to open and read each one. You have no idea how liberating this is! I am able to stay in touch with the outside world so much quicker now. Not only that, I’m constantly adding new blogs and feeds in my area of interest.  It’s so easy. Why didn’t I do this before?! (Oh, yes. See second para…) via thefrangipanijournals.wordpress.com […]

  2. […] Reader has simplified my life, though. I can take a quick glance at new items that have come in without having to open and read each one. You have no idea how liberating this is! I am able to stay in touch with the outside world so much quicker now. Not only that, I’m constantly adding new blogs and feeds in my area of interest.  It’s so easy. Why didn’t I do this before?! (Oh, yes. See second para…) via thefrangipanijournals.wordpress.com […]

  3. […] Reader has simplified my life, though. I can take a quick glance at new items that have come in without having to open and read each one. You have no idea how liberating this is! I am able to stay in touch with the outside world so much quicker now. Not only that, I’m constantly adding new blogs and feeds in my area of interest.  It’s so easy. Why didn’t I do this before?! (Oh, yes. See second para…) via thefrangipanijournals.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

