1 Comment

From my bookshelf: What I’ve been reading

Despite my best intentions, the last six months have seen only a (big) pile of pregnancy and parenting books by my bedside. The occasional magazine found its way there, but was quickly put aside. I couldn’t deal with all the ideas for articles that began popping up unsolicited.

The baby’s now four months old and I’m getting the hang of reading while feeding him. That’s the only time I can justify spending time reading more than a page – there’s too much to do at other times.

autumnI seem to have lost the taste for fiction. Make-believe is boring. Bring on reality. I began Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s ‘The Autumn of the Patriarch’ and while I admired the descriptive phrases (translated from the Spanish), the sheer lack of paragraphs in the book has made me want to abandon it. Pages and pages of type, without a break, without quotes or any other punctuation besides commas and full stops – it wearies the eyes.

3taI just finished ‘Three Cups of Tea’ by Greg Mortenson. What a wonderful story. This is an account of Mortenson’s effort to build schools for girls in rural Pakistan and Afghanistan. Despite corruption, local resistance, fatwas and the Taliban, he has managed so much. The story is truly inspiring and reminded me at every step of my ‘Book of 2008’ – Leaving Microsoft to Change the World by John Wood (the story of Room to Read). I’m seeing a trend here. Or maybe it is serendipity. One more push, perhaps, into what I’m increasingly getting interested in – bringing books to those who have none.

Anyway, more on that later.

What I’d like to read next is some poetry. And some good travel writing. Also on my TBR list is Thomas Friedman’s ‘The World is Flat’. Have you read it?

One comment on “From my bookshelf: What I’ve been reading

  1. <snip One more push, perhaps, into what I’m increasingly getting interested in – bringing books to those who have none.
    PL] Who may these people be? I ask since I have done some work with the DAISY consortium that ensures that books are available in a universally accessible format. Then there are other projects like bookshare for India. Write to http://www.saksham.org for more information or give me a shout.
    I have also read the world is flat. Friedman has written a subsequent book stating that the world is not flat I believe. I have not read that. The world is flat is also available as an audio book. It may be handy for you to get that. Your hands remain free.

Leave a Reply

