1 Comment

Maximum City

‘Maximum City’ by Suketu Mehta has been on my bedside table for some time now. I’ve looked forward to reading this acclaimed account of my city. I’ve made a few attempts to read it. Mehta is a wonderful writer. Every time I pick up the book I end up feeling depressed. I’ve gone back to it time and again, hoping that something in the pages will renew my affection for the city.

But it’s gone. I can see it in my anger and irritation that the stories generate in me. I can feel it when my stomach churns at the thought of leaping into a packed, running train again. I feel myself recoil at the possibility of being groped, touched without my permission by passers-by, complete strangers who believe they have the liberty and access to my body.

Mehta talks about being an ‘exile’. I heard that thought echo when we were at friends in England and one of them said that she didn’t feel at home anywhere.

I don’t feel at home in Mumbai. I don’t think I ever did. That’s a different statement from having a home there, though. The city is a place where my family lives and works. But that’s the extent of my affection for it.

Every time I go back ‘home’, I echo Mehta’s words. I feel as if I’m in a movie – surely, in the 21st century, things should be better?

One comment on “Maximum City

  1. I don’t feel at home anywhere. Or maybe that’s a way of saying I feel at home everywhere.

    If it’s any help, Mehta’s book is pretty old, and the Bombay of today is quite different to the Bombay he describes. It’s a passionate and powerful book though. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

