Leave a comment

Still Missing

It’ll soon be two months since we left England. Seems like yesterday. Seems like a life-time ago.

When I left, I knew I’d miss some bits of England – the landscape for one meant a lot to me. I miss waking up to utter silence, drawing the curtains of the full-length bedroom windows and looking out into our little patch of pristine green. That combination of serenity, solitude and soothing green is hard to find here. But we’re looking and I’m sure it’s not too far away.

The other day, just out of the blue, I missed the sight of seeing Autumn’s first leaves changing color. My cherry blossom trees would be yellow by now, the green flush of summer fading fast. Soon the drive will be littered with a carpet of golden leaves, soggy from the constant rain.

I look out of my bedroom window here and watch a huge tree, worshipped and loved, shedding its leaves onto the road. One day it was rich with foliage, the next morning every leaf is a dry one.

And of course, I miss being surgically attached to my laptop. We now have broadband, but it’s still too early to break out the champagne. Connectivity is sporadic, unsteady and phone help non-existent.

Mr. R, I know, is missing the Proms season this year. Internet radio can make up only so much for actually being there.

Oh well, England’s only a plane ride away. In the meantime, there’s a lot of India to discover. Life here is only just beginning.

Leave a Reply

