Leave a comment

Rain, Rain, go away…

While India swelters in 35+ degrees C heat and eagerly awaits the rains, I’m quite fed up of the wet weather here.

It’s been raining for a week now, every day without respite. The sun hasn’t dared to show its face and the gray days are starting to annoy me a bit (although I bet the grass across the country is saying a silent thank-you.)

Mr. R is in London for a full day rehearsal prior to a concert next week. My shopping plans have been abandoned – it’s not urgent enough to make me want to splash through the High Street.

I’ve been for an early mass, where we prayed for Madeleine McCann, the 4 year old who is missing in Portugal, and for the Pakistani taxi driver who was fatally stabbed locally last week. (That’s one more reason I like living here – the church prays not only for the Catholic world, but also stays up-to-date on local and international news. I can’t imagine (or recollect similar instances) the priests in Mumbai praying for a missing child (who’s not from the parish) or discussing a non-Catholic related murder/issue during a sermon, forget about praying on the issue…May I be proved wrong soon.)

I’m going to spend the rest of the day catching up with my pending writing. With stacks of notes and scraps overflowing with ideas and to-do’s, solitude may well be the answer to procrastination.

Leave a Reply

