Leave a comment

When I have some money…

We are drowning in books. Really.

In the past week alone, we have picked up (umm,bought) books from , let’s see…

– the library was having a stock sale. Picked up 13 books to give away through bookcrossing.com (Not my fault they were having a ‘As-many-books-you-can-put-in-a-bag-for-£1-sale). I put as many books as I could.

I couldn’t bear to think of those poor unwanted books being put into a skip. Besides, where else can you pick up 13 books for a pound? (13 because that’s what I could carry – the bag could possibly hold a few more…)

– Visited the Turville books sale over the weekend. Between the two of us, bought 14 (Mr R) and a measly 4 (me).

– Accompanied Mr R to the library yesterday evening (cancelled bank appt threw up a free hour!). Went in for the purpose of ‘browsing’. Ended up looking at new stock of business books on sale. Eight more have ended up in our library.

– Mr R picked up a new copy of ‘Dr Faust’ in the WH Smith sale before going to the library!

Total books procured in the last seven days or so : 40 or so.

Library books/magazines to be read and returned : 18

I have a feeling I’m leaving out some…

“When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes.” – Desiderius Erasmus

Maybe we need to rent another house – just for the books.

Leave a Reply

