Leave a comment

135 days to go…

Another new year’s resolution that I’ve stuck to.

I’ve finally signed up for my first major road run in the UK.

The London Breakfast 5K Run for women takes place on July 2, 2006 in, yes, London. I’ve already got butterflies just thinking of it. Running races makes me nervous for some reason. I can easily do the distance when I’m with my running group, but with hundreds and thousands of strangers, it suddenly seems too much.

Between now and July (135 days!) I will practice. I really will. That’s the only way to get out and prove it to myself that I can do it. It’s only 5K after all…

I’m also running to raise funds for the Down’s Syndrome Research Foundation, the charity I work with. If you would like to support my effort, please let me know and I’ll send you a link to my online fundraising page on www.smartgive.com

Any other (female) bloggers out there want to join me? C’mon, you have four months to practice! Male bloggers may please come and cheer us!

If 5K is too easy for you, take part in the British 10K London run on the same day. If you don’t get in through the public ballot and are looking for a guaranteed place, let me know.

Well, on with the training then. Watch this space for updates!

Leave a Reply

