Leave a comment

It must be looniness

There is something exhilarating about being able to complete a set distance without stopping or taking a walking break. As the weeks go by, I find it easier each Tuesday, to stay with the front of the pack, running easily, without much effort. Last Tuesday, we clocked about 4.5 miles in about 45 minutes. The continued improvement has led many of us to participate in races over the summer. The Running Sisters are celebrating 20 years with a Jubilee Run on Sunday. We beginners will do the 5k run, while the more adventurous and experienced will attempt the 6k. Then on next Tuesday, the neighbouring town is having a 5k run and so on.

Funnily enough, on my own, I give up in about 20 minutes. I’m usually out of breath and my brain works overtime to convince me that it is time to go home and rest. I see a lot of the same in this very interesting book I’m reading called ‘The looniness of a long distance runner’. It’s an account of an ‘unfit Londoner’s attempt to run a marathon’. Somehow the same lethargy doesn’t apply on Saturdays or Tuesdays when I run with a group. I bet there’s already some study or some research on this. But for what its worth, I’m just glad to be out there in the park, in the woods, on the pavement, being able to run.

Thankfully, the English are very supportive of such endeavours and are nice to you when you are in their way. Fortunately, I haven’t come across many people who think like this chap below :

“It’s unnatural for people to run around the city streets unless they are thieves or victims. It makes people nervous to see someone running. I know that when I see someone running on my street, my instincts tell me to let the dog go after him. ” ~Mike Royko

or this one;

“I don’t think jogging is healthy, especially morning jogging. If morning joggers knew how tempting they looked to morning motorists, they would stay home and do sit-ups.” ~Rita Rudner

Fortunately, the English just put on their shorts, running shoes and just join in celebrating the sunshine. Thank God for Summer.

Leave a Reply

