Leave a comment

For endless Monday Mornings

This weekend has been one of those where nothing seems to go right. Mr.R is still battling with the flu and looks like I might be coming down with it too. The weather outside is absolutely dreary – grey, dull and too much rain. For a moment I can easily delude myself that this is a rainy August day in Mumbai. It seems like a good time to snuggle up with a warm drink and catch up with all the reading that I’ve got. On the TBR list is Alice Sebold’s memoir ‘Lucky’, Karen Joy Fowler’s ‘The Jane Austen Book Club’ and an adorable compilation of ‘101 poems to keep you sane’.

From the last mentioned book, here’s a poem for Monday. This is for all those moments when you wonder where the weekend went and for the times you spend wishing that Friday was here already. How can you not be distracted?! 🙂

I Meant to Do My Work Today
by Richard LeGallienne

I meant to do my work today-
But a brown bird sang in the apple tree,
And a butterfly flitted across the field,
And all the leaves were calling me.

And the wind went sighing over the land
Tossing the grasses to and fro,
And a rainbow held out its shining hand-
So what could I do but laugh and go?

Leave a Reply

