1 Comment

Not just….

I’m not (just) a MW anymore.

My heart belongs to four cities actually. Bombay (or Mumbai as they like to call it), because that’s where I grew up, went to school, college, work; because that’s where my closest friends are; because that’s where my family is; because that’s where Life as I know it, happened.

Then there’s Mangalore. Because it’s the city of my birth – my mum went home for her first pregnancy and that’s how a Bombay girl ended up being born in M’lore; because that’s where my grandmother lives, managing her paddy fields and the rest of the land with an iron hand, even at 80; because that’s where I can relax, take a break, eat as much as I want and worry about dieting when I get back.

And because of Mr.R, two places are now part of my life, irrevocably twined with my life story – Panjim and the rest of Goa, because that’s where Mr.R’s heart is and England, because that’s where his work and passion for music has brought him.

It’s funny how you end up being ‘related’ to more than just a spouse when you marry – you marry into his family, add new relatives and friends to your own list; e-mails, letters, anniversary and birthday wishes bring together people you’ve perhaps just met once or twice, and yet they are now a major part of your life, just because they are a part of his…. Strange how one can develop an affinity for a city or a state that was just a nice spot for a holiday – but now I can call it home, because it’s Mr.R’s home.. I’ve learned to cherish the little things of Goa, just because he cherishes them. It’s important I think, in a marriage, to go beyond the obvious – it’s funny how little things can matter a lot to someone.. marriage is about remembering those things. It’s a complicated thing, getting married – two people getting to know each other a little more each day, a little better every moment – I’m sure there will be times when we agree to disagree, but hopefully, those will be times we can look back on and laugh, as we walk through life together.

My favorite wedding pic is one that is not posed for – it’s at the reception – a fleeting moment captured by the photographer just before our first ‘public kiss’.. It’s a picture of intimacy and our faces reflect our joy. I have it framed here, taken out from the wedding album that we brought with us. I pray that the rest of our days be filled with the same sense of joy, peace and contentment and that Mr.R finds in me his Ms.R.

One of my favorite verses from the Bible has turned up recently on many of my e-friends blogs. I guess everybody sees the beauty in these eternal words.I like to think of these words as my guiding light for what a marriage should be.

1 Corinthians 13: 4-8
“Love is patient and kind; it is not jealous or conceited or proud; love is not ill mannered or selfish or irritable; love does not keep a record of wrongs; love is not happy with evil, but is happy with the truth. Love never gives up; and its faith, hope, and patience never fail. Love is eternal.”

One comment on “Not just….

  1. Well I never! Congratulations!
    What can I say…I’m happy for you, and hope the best days of your life begin now.
    You’ve left a gaping hole in Mumbai now…it won’t be the same now that MW’s gone, right?
    Hmmm…how about a Sunday morning coffee? You and Boo, invited to my lowly abode; please grace me with your presence. 🙂
    Oh, I changed my mind. It’s not Brazillian coffee that I’m serving; it’s going to be Vienna Coffee :a standard or double espresso with a dollop of whipped cream, sprinkled with grated dark chocolate and served in a cappuccino cup.
    (Mr. R is invited too)

Leave a Reply

