3 Comments

A dream come true….only on TV!

Just watched bits and pieces of one of my all time favorite movies on TV (ok,don’t laugh now!); it’s ‘Nayak’ starring Anil Kapoor, an OTT fantasy of a TV journalist who gets a chance to be CM for a day and turns the city around. It’s the kind of stuff I pray will come true some day. Paresh Rawal has some great lines in the film. When AK has his doubts about being a full-time politician, Rawal lectures him saying that “….everybody says that when they grow up they want to be doctors or engineers or accountants. Nobody says I want to be a politician. And then we grumble about the state of the country, the corrupt people in power …yet we are not prepared to do anything about it…” so true, so true.

I like this movie for many reasons. It strikes a chord somewhere deep in me – it ‘shows’ a dream that I have for a change that rocks our lives, drags us out of our complacency, makes us accountable for our lives. This is a movie that I relate very deeply to; I just wish it were fact and not fantasy. Anil Kapoor isn’t one of my favorite actors, but I admire his acting here – one is almost convinced that he means what he says. Or perhaps I’m just gullible 🙂

“Join politics” is on my list of ‘things to do before I die’. I probably added it to the list in a fit of idealism but I know that it’s not one of the things that I’m going to make happen. There are other ways to make a difference. I don’t think I can (or want to)deal with the ‘politics’, the corruption, the expectations, the rivalries, the name-sullying, the character assasinations, the fake smiles and the hypocrisy. Life is just too short to be pleasant to people you don’t want to be around.. There are other ways to make a difference….

We need more young, educated, literate people in Parliament. For those of you brave enough to try, you have my entire support, for what it’s worth! If you have the thick skin to take on the Uma’s, Mayawati’s and the Laloo’s of this world, then may God and the junta be with you! Good luck!

3 comments on “A dream come true….only on TV!

  1. Hey MW,
    The world is full of conspiracy theories and ideas about how to make the world better. The question is WHEN? When are we going to get down to making a difference? What good is talk when no feet are willing to walk?
    As for politics, I’d rather stay away from it. The thing is, if you’re young, literate and educated, you don’t want to get into politics. But those are exactly the kind of people that India needs right now. I’m ashamed to admit that I’m in the league of the critics, not the ones taking the plunge, trying to do something about it. Yes, there are other ways to make a diffrence, besides being in the political realm. I really wish I could do something, but lack of willpower is my worst enemy.
    I too often think about making a difference. But what puts me off is, is it enough? Do one person’s efforts count?

  2. Hi Ms V,

    There are days when I firmly believe that yes, one person can make a difference. Of course, that belief gets constantly eroded when you feel like you’re banging your head against a wall everytime you make an effort to change things. But that has never stopped me. I’m determined to change things (whether people like it or not!). It’ll take time, but I know that if each of us makes a start just where we are, the world will be a better place. We don’t all need to be Mahatma’s or Mandela’s; just being ordinary MW’s in India or Canada is enough – every little drop counts! 🙂

  3. Rightly said :)I think my reservoir of inspiration needs periodic filling-up.
    Thanks,
    Astha

Leave a Reply

